And so it begins…RoadTrip 2012

I realized this winter that it had been over five years since my last vacation that did not involve going to visit my parents or returning to one state or another for a doctor’s appointment. Somehow, the stars aligned…or at least, several conferences aligned, to present an awesome opportunity.

My boyfriend Jason, a Drupal developer, was scheduled to spend a week out in Denver for DrupalCon. A full week after the close of DrupalCon, I was heading to two back-to-back conferences: in Las Vegas, OMG2012, the annual conference of I’m Too Young for This! Cancer Foundation, and in San Francisco, the Nonprofit Technology Conference. We decided to string our trips together and road trip from Denver to Vegas in our week off. Neither of us have had an opportunity to explore the Southwest before. We are making stops in Santa Fe, Phoenix/Scottsdale (to visit with family I haven’t seen in over a decade), Sedona, the Grand Canyon, the Hoover Dam, and finally winding up in Vegas.

Google Map of Trip
Our "route"

One of the activities that brought Jason and I together was a love of food: cooking it or finding unique and delicious places to eat around Washington DC. It was only fitting, then, that our common passion (obsession?) would help us structure the week off. We consulted friends as well as restaurants featured on some of our favorite Food Network shows, e.g. Diners, Drive-ins and Dives; Best Thing I Ever Ate, and Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations. Naturally, we have many more places on our “wish list” than we do time or meals, but I’m hoping to cross as many off as possible.

I have been neglecting this blog for as long as I’ve had it, but I will make a good faith effort to track the trip, if for no other reason than to remember that time before I started graduate school, when I took a 3 week “vacation.”

